Congratulations to all Australian playwrights nominated for the 2009 AWGIE Awards. It is fantastic to see playwrights taking out categories for film, television and radio, as well as theatre (for which we know them well).

Here is the list of winners:


Children’s Television – C Classification
CJ the DJ – Si’s Slide by John Armstrong

Children’s Television – P Classification
Zigby – Zigby and the Mango by Suzie Wicks

Children’s Theatre
The Tragical Life of Cheeseboy – by Finegan Kruckemeyer, conceived by Andy Packer

Theatre for Young Audiences
Tenderness – Slut by Patricia Cornelius

Community and Youth Theatre
Watermark by Alana Valentine

When the Rain Stops Falling by Andrew Bovell

Interactive Media
FIND815 by Anthony Mullins

Radio – Original Broadcast
There’s Something about Eels… by Noëlle Janaczewska

Radio – Adaptation
Aurora Calling: The Results of a Joint Observation by Catherine Ryan

Documentary – Public Broadcast
First Australians- Episode 1 by Louis Nowra and Rachel Perkins

Documentary – Corporate Training
Not My Sister by Scott Xavier Higgins

Short Film
Champions by Anita Beckman

Comedy – Sketch or Light Entertainment
Good News Week 2:07 – The 2008 Jet – Sparrow Awards
Ian Simmons, Dave Bloustien, Bruce Griffiths, Simon Dodd, Warwick Holt, and Paul Livingston with Mat Blackwell, Patrick Cook and Celia Pacquola

Comedy – Situation or Narrative
Review with Myles Barlow – Episode 3 by Phil Lloyd with Trent O’Donnell

Television – Serial
Home and Away – Episode 4649 by Sean Nash

Television – Series
Rush – Episode 4 by John O’Brien and Christopher Lee

Telemovie (Original)
Saved by Belinda Chayko

Television Mini Series – Original
The Circuit – Series 2 by Kelly Lefever, Dot West, Mitch Torres and Wayne Blair

Feature Film Screenplay – Adaptation
Blessed by Andrew Bovell, Melissa Reeves, Patricia Cornelius, Christos Tsiolkas

Feature Film Screenplay (Original)
Samson and Delilah by Warwick Thornton

Major AWGIE Award
Samson and Delilah by Warwick Thornton


Monte Miller Award – Long Form
Box by James Greville

Monte Miller Award – Short Form
Broken by Mitchell Forrester

Richard Lane Award – Recognising Outstanding Service and Dedication to the Australian Writers’ Guild
Jack Brislee

Hector Crawford Award – For a Significant Contribution to the Craft via a Body of Script Editing Work
May-Brit Akerholt

Richard Wherrett Prize
Tenderness – Slut by Patricia Cornelius

FOXTEL Fellowship for Excellence in Television Writing
Christopher Lee

Kit Denton Fellowship
Back to Back Theatre

John Hinde Award for Science Fiction
Shayne Armstrong and S.P Krause